What CMMC Level Applies to You?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a comprehensive framework developed by the United States Department of Defense (DoD) to ensure that all companies working within the defense industrial base (DIB) meet specific cybersecurity standards. This certification is required for all organizations that do business with the DoD, including prime contractors, subcontractors, suppliers, and vendors.

To determine which CMMC level applies to your organization, there are seven key things you need to know:

CMMC Levels:

The CMMC is comprised of five levels, ranging from basic cyber hygiene practices (Level 1) to advanced cybersecurity capabilities (Level 5). Each level builds upon the previous one, with Level 1 serving as the foundation for higher levels.

Risk Assessment:

The CMMC framework is designed to help organizations assess and manage their cybersecurity risks. Each level has specific requirements that must be met in order to achieve certification, based on the type of information and systems they handle.

Third-Party Assessment Organizations (C3PAOs):

To obtain a CMMC certification, organizations must undergo a third-party assessment by a C3PAO. These organizations are trained and authorized by the DoD to conduct audits and determine if an organization meets the cybersecurity standards required for their level of certification.


Before undergoing a third-party assessment, organizations can perform a self-assessment to identify any gaps in their current cybersecurity practices. This can help them prepare for the official assessment and make any necessary improvements to meet the required standards.

DFARS Compliance:

The Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) is a set of regulations that outlines specific security controls that organizations must adhere to in order to do business with the DoD. The CMMC incorporates these requirements into its framework, making it essential for organizations to achieve certification in order to maintain compliance.

Continuous Monitoring:

Achieving a CMMC certification is not a one-time process. Organizations must continuously monitor their cybersecurity practices and make necessary improvements to maintain their level of certification. This ensures that organizations are consistently meeting the required standards and protecting sensitive information.

Implementation Timeline:

The DoD has released a timeline for implementing the CMMC requirements in contracts, with the expectation that all organizations in the DIB will have a CMMC certification by 2026. It is important for organizations to start preparing now in order to meet these deadlines and continue doing business with the DoD.

In conclusion, understanding which CMMC level applies to your organization is crucial for maintaining compliance with DoD requirements and protecting sensitive information. By knowing the key aspects of the CMMC framework and taking necessary steps to achieve certification, your organization can continue doing business with the DoD and contribute to a safer and more secure defense industrial base. Let’s work together to build a strong cybersecurity posture for our national defense.