Who Needs to Comply with FISMA?

What is FISMA?

The Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) is a law that was passed by the United States Congress in 2002. The act establishes a comprehensive framework for ensuring the security of information and information systems used by the federal government.

Who needs to comply with FISMA?

Any federal agency that uses or accesses electronic information systems must comply with FISMA. This includes all executive branch agencies, as well as any independent agencies, such as the Federal Reserve Board and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Why is compliance important?

FISMA compliance is important because it helps ensure that the information and information systems used by the federal government are secure. The act sets forth a number of requirements for how information security must be managed within federal agencies, and these requirements help to protect against unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification, or destruction of information and information systems.

What are the requirements of FISMA?

FISMA requires each federal agency to develop, document, and implement an agency-wide program to provide information security for the information and information systems that support the operations and assets of the agency. The program must include:

  • A risk management strategy: The agency must identify and manage the risks to its information and information systems. This includes conducting risk assessments, implementing security controls, and monitoring the effectiveness of those controls.
  • A security awareness and training program: All agency employees and contractors who have access to federal information or information systems must receive security awareness training. The training must be designed to ensure that these individuals understand their security responsibilities and are able to perform their duties in a manner that protects the information and systems.
  • An incident response plan: The agency must have a plan in place for responding to incidents that involve federal information or information systems. The plan must include procedures for detecting, reporting, and responding to incidents, as well as for dealing with the aftermath of incidents.
  • A continuity of operations plan: The agency must have a plan for ensuring that its information and information systems remain operational in the event of an emergency or disruptions to normal operations. The plan must address how the agency will protect critical information and systems, how it will provide essential services during an emergency, and how it will resume normal operations after an emergency.

What are the penalties for non-compliance?

Federal agencies that do not comply with FISMA may be subject to fines, suspension of funding, or other sanctions. Contractors and other organizations that do not comply with FISMA may be barred from doing business with the federal government.      

How can I get help with compliance?

If you need assistance with FISMA compliance, please contact a FISMA consultant. They can help you develop and implement a compliance program that meets the requirements of FISMA.

Don’t wait until you’re facing penalties to get compliant – get started today!